Skip to content

It just keeps getting worse

April 16, 2013

I don’t believe in coincidence. I do believe in fate. I’m still struggling to grasp that will grayson, will grayson contains so many elements of what wrote, then rewrote, and rewrote again…and that it’s just…so much better. Damn you, will grayson, will grayson. Damn you. It’s not fair for me to even compare my work to this, but I keep coming back to the same thoughts: Characters with similar names, locations with similarly named establishments, the occasional identical event in otherwise entirely dissimilar plots. It just…sucks. Why did I have to walk by this book and look at it? Why do I have to know it exists? What’s the lesson I’m supposed to be learning here?

If I didn’t like the book so much, I’d be really angry. Instead, I just feel crushed and (still) disappointed with myself. These authors beat me to the punch. Hell, there never was a punch. My novel is like a sissy’s attempt to swing at someone and failing miserably, knuckles just glancing off a cheek dully. Theirs is like the hook Brad Pitt’s character delivers in a boxing match in Snatch. Ugh.

And I’m supposed to find a lesson in this? Bullshit. Right now, I’m just learning about jealousy.

From → rants

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

