Skip to content

Thoughts on Levithan’s Boy Meets Boy

April 20, 2013

In the chaos at the bookstore last week, I ordered <i>Boy Meets Boy</i> by David Levithan on a suggestion from a salesclerk. It arrived, and I tore into it on Wednesday. I devoured it. It was everything I hoped it would be.

boy-meets-boy

Oddly, in thinking back to the premise of the book as the clerk described it to me, I keep giggling at myself. She described it as having been a gender/orientation utopia. It was pretty fantastic in that regard, sure, but the funny part to me is that, based on my friendships when I was younger, the school as described in the novel was actually what I imagined the performing arts high school in the city would be like. My friends that attended the school  never said anything to lead me so astray, but since my friends that went there were either openly gay or goth (or both), you can imagine how easy it would have been to get the wrong impression. And yes, that pretty nicely compartmentalizes my high school take regarding utopia: gays and goths. Like I said, I had a few good chuckles over that memory.

I loved the book. I have to get back on the road tomorrow, and I think I’m going to leave my (writing) computer at home. I’ll reread the book instead. It’s a fast read, and since I’ll only be gone one night this week, it seems like a better alternative than dragging two computers with me. It’s certainly a lighter alternative. I want to read it over and over and over. I can’t believe I only discovered this book a week ago. (In defense of my ignorance, I have almost entirely avoided reading any new fiction for the past seven years… don’t ask what I’ve been reading instead.) I have a lot of lost time to make up for here, so I imagine I’ll read the book several more times before the end of the month even. (It is, again, a really fast read.)

More to say, but I’m so tired that I forgot I don’t have to use html markup for italics.

Bedtime.

Thank you, David Levithan. Thank you, thank you, a million times, thank you. Boy Meets Boy is a delight.

From → rants

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

