Skip to content

Sleepless coffee conclusion

June 11, 2013

I got a few hours sleep last night – I’d guess about three hours total – and since I’m obviously not going to fall back to sleep, I finally gave up and got a cup of coffee. Hm… how old is what’s left in this pot, I wonder. I do a little thinking and conclude it’s been there a little over two days. I look at it: no mold. I sniff it: still smells okay. I heat up the remaining cup, pour in a full day’s worth of calories in sugar and milk, and sip.

zomg.

It’s quite possibly the best cup of coffee I’ve had in about five years (excluding my always delightful encounters with a friend’s technivorm moccamaster). This coffee should be awful, but it’s not. My better half cringes when he sees me do things like sniff food or inspect for mold before eating, but my policy on food going bad has served me quite well to date. Don’t judge me.

As my kitchen is painted lime green and purple (something people believed I would never actually do), the lime green moccamaster is a potential must have in my future.

As my kitchen is painted lime green and purple (something people believed I would never actually do), the lime green moccamaster is a potential must have in my future.

If I had the big  bucks to shell out for a technivorm, I might, especially now that they’ve expanded their moccamaster line to include a wide variety of colors (who DOESN’T need a lime green coffee maker?). The fact remains, though, that my cuisinart coffee maker has withstood the test of time – eight years and counting – AND has an alarm I can set which allows me to have freshly ground and brewed coffee ready without me having to stumble around when I want it at 5AM.

8 years, I tell you, 8 years... and still going strong.

8 years, I tell you, 8 years… and still going strong.

We’ll disregard the fact that I barely ever use the alarm, and that the four cup super-heater feature quit working after an unfortunate mishap with too much water about 4 months ago. It grinds my coffee. This is an important feature since I lent my last coffee grinder to another friend about four years ago and never bothered to retrieve it. It filters my water, too, which has something to do, I suspect, with the fact that the coffee gets even better after a couple of days instead of incredibly nasty. I’m not willing to throw away my tried and true coffee maker just because all the cool folks who shop at Williams-Sonoma have one. Not that I don’t love me some Williams-Sonoma (which, incidentally, also sells Cuisinart coffee makers, just not the the tried and true grind-n-brew).

Admittedly, I laugh every time I say dutch oven.

Admittedly, I laugh every time I say dutch oven (pictured here in “caribbean”).

If I’m going to spend an exorbitant amount of money on something there, though, it’s going to be a Le Creuset dutch oven in cassis (a fancy way of saying awesome shade of purple). I figure if i buy one, I’ll have to learn to cook. It is for this reason that I am overly fond of using my Williams Sonoma credit card (e.g., to earn points toward store credit). See, if I can just buy that damn dutch oven, my life would be different. I’d cook. A lot. I’d clean. I’d watch cooking shows. I’d experiment. People would beg me to host dinner parties.

But then, at the end of the day, if I became such a domestic, I might have to abandon my spoiled food sniff test, and then I wouldn’t have rockin’ coffee every two or three days.

And where would I be then, huh? And that, ladies and gentlemen, is how I am going to henceforth justify my laziness in the kitchen (and all things domestic).

From → rants

5 Comments
  1. My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your
    post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome weblog!

    • Hi there – I haven’t had guest writers post content, but please certainly do feel welcome to contact me if you have something you’d like to contribute. You can reach me at TwigAnthony(at)gmail.com.

  2. Thanks very nice blog!

  3. Finding your site really made my night. You have no
    idea.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. I. Was. WRONG! | Ramblings from Twig Anthony

Leave a Reply

