Skip to content

Obligatory February 14th Post

May 29, 2014

I’m drinking rent wine* and watching Harry Potter; that ought to indicate the depth of my plans tonight.

I thought of TLTL today, but did not text him. He texted me instead.

“I just woke up from a nap. I had a dream about you. A sex dream,” he wrote.

What else could I say but, “Happy Valentine’s Day, I suppose.”

He followed up with a picture of him in heart shaped, ruby studded rose-tinted sunglasses. And that was it.

I resisted the urge to ask, “So, who are you fucking tonight?”

I bought myself some roses today since I am now in a committed relationship with myself. Honestly, though, it’s been such a long week that even if I had a date, I’d likely cancel it; I’m absolutely exhausted.

The seeming reality is that I’m a novelty, a one-hit wonder. I appear fascinating at first, but eventually, suitors realize I’m intractably dull… or annoying… or psychotic. I can at least say that I’ve got a lot less of the psychotic factor going on these days. Frankly, I don’t have time for it. I’ve been buried up to my eyeballs in work and in unintentional crisis counseling. I actually ignored a message from a friend stating that she is suing her employer. I am, of course, dying of curiosity as to why she is pursuing said litigation, but I’ve been increasingly less and less able to handle her drama. Instead, I’ve focused on eating well and practicing joy.

This is all a flipping joke.

*Rent wine is the wine given in exchange for a garage unit at my house. It’s lovely. It’s like belonging to the wine of the month club but without the fee.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

